About Me

I am a stay at home mother of four children who are 8, 7, 5, and 1. I became a stay at home mother when Christian was born in January 2009.  Before staying at home I worked at Automatic Data Processing (ADP) in West Des Moines, Iowa.  I have also done medical insurance billing and worked the front desk at a hotel.  My first job was at Montgomery Wards in Des Moines.  I worked there in high school until they closed the store in 1999.

In 1996 I was diagnosed with transverse myelitis after literally falling and not being able to get up.  Now it seems as though there is my life BEFORE and AFTER which are very very different from each other.  Granted it was 14 years ago but my life would most likely be very different if I would have never went through this diagnosis.  I was in the hospital for three weeks and had to relearn how to walk.  I was in therapy for two years.  I do walk now just with a limp that is sometimes more noticeable than others.  I have yet to be able to run and my kids think it is HILARIOUS when I try.  My balance is off meaning I lose my balance easily.  Bladder and bowel goes along with the course too.  Being diagnosed with TM and all that comes with it was and still is a challenge but I tell you what - it really weeds out who your friends are.  I am grateful to those that stuck around.

Christian is my youngest. Christian was born with spina bifida and hydrocephalus. He was diagnosed when I had an abnormal AFP test at week 19 of my pregnancy.  Besides his special needs when he was born the thought of paying for four children in daycare was overwhelming.

I love staying home and seeing EVERYTHING the kids do and say. Some days are challenging but we work through them and try to have more good days than not.  My husband works his behind off at work so that I can stay home.

No comments:

Post a Comment